Home » BBC Proms 2013 » Prom 10 – Mozart, Schumann and Rachmaninov

Prom 10 – Mozart, Schumann and Rachmaninov

Prom 10 was conducted by Sir Antonio Pappano with the Orchestra of the Academy of Santa Cecilia, Rome. It was the first time this season that I think we’ve had encores (one at the end of the first act, and another at the end of the show). I thought this Prom was good, but not as good as others. Nothing wrong with the playing or anything, it just didn’t do it for me on the whole the way other Proms have, like the Gospel Prom or Prom 9.

Prom 10 started with Mozart’s Symphony No. 35 in D major, K385, ‘Haffner’, which was stated before it started as being Mozart’s “happiest symphony”. I’m not really the biggest Mozart fan, but I did like this piece, and it was very happy indeed. I find music like this symphony to be very easy to listen to, and great to have playing while doing other things. It was just very nice.
Also, correct me if I’m wrong, but was this the first Mozart for the 2013 Proms Season? I think it might have been.

Jan Lisiecki

Following the Mozart was Robert Schumann’s Concerto for Piano in A minor. I’ve said before that I’m not the biggest fan of piano concertos, and this didn’t change my standing on that front. It was very pretty and well played by soloist Jan Lisiecki, but I’m a bit, well, take it or leave it. It’s the sort of piece that would be nice to have playing while you go off to sleep. The crowd, however, sounded as though they loved it, and received an encore of Fredric Chopin’s Nocturne in C sharp minor. Again, lovely, but more ‘going off to sleep’ type music.

After interval was Sergei Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2 in E minor. I have heard this symphony before, and it is good, it’s just not my favourite piece by Rachmaninov, or maybe it was lacking something in this performance? I don’t know. Anyway, it was good. This piece also received an encore, this time it was Amilcare Ponchielli’s La Danza Delle Ore (finale), which is really bouncy and fun.

Leave a Reply

