Home » Uncategorized » Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1 Round-Up

Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1 Round-Up

Well, I’ve survived Week 1 of July Camp NaNoWriMo, and with 6,674 words under my belt, I’m pretty happy. I didn’t change my word-count aim from the 50,000, even though I don’t expect to reach it. If I can get over 5,000 words a week, I’ll be happy. Some nights after work I really can’t be bothered/am too tired to write, or, if I do write, what comes out is rather rubbish. I also have to be careful not to force myself too much: the whole point of doing NaNoWriMo is that I enjoy it. If I’m not enjoying it, then I should be writing that night.

I like how my story is coming along. I’m continuing with the story I began in April Camp, where I reached over 17,000 words in about 11 days before life/plot bunnies got in the way. So a couple more months of planning and I’m back. It’s funny how with a break, some characters that were peripheral become secondary, those you thought were may be secondary fall back (my main characters have stayed as such).

I like seeing what I come out with every time I open up my Camp Word document. It’s one of those odd phenomenoms where I know that of course I’m the one whose written what’s on the page, only afterwards, I always feel a little surprised that I have.

Is anyone else doing Camp NaNoWriMo? How did your first week pan out?

PS: Does anyone else have those characters that demand to be referred to by the first and last names every time you mention them? I mean, it’s good for word-count, but still!

 

Leave a Reply

