Home » Cooking » Things that make me smile

Things that make me smile

Here are some things from the past few days that have made me smile:

Summer Lovin’: We may be in the middle of winter down here in Australia, but in the northern hemisphere, summer is just kicking off (or trying to in the UK, anyway). My favourite chefs have all recently posted videos and recipes featuring fabulous summer recipes, including Jamie Oliver’s 45 second ice-cream and recipes for summer drinks by Sorted Food and Rachel Khoo. All very seasonally inappropriate for me at the moment, but they still make me happy (not to mention all the Pimms! Here’s looking at you, Mr Oliver).

Owl at Paddington Station: Yesterday (Monday 24/6) they had an owl at Paddington St, London, to keep the pigeons away from a giant Heathrow Express cake. I know a few times here in Melbourne they’ve used eagles at big football or cricket matches to keep the seagulls away, but owls at train stations are pretty cool. Photos by Matthew Skinner.

Paddington station owl, brought in to guard the @HeathrowExpress birthday cake from pigeons

The giant cake

Paddington station owl, brought in to guard the @HeathrowExpress birthday cake from pigeons

The owl at Paddington Station

Bad Harry Potter humour: I found this on my lunch-break at work, and it made me laugh. No apologies for the bad sense of humour! This can be found here.

 

Leave a Reply

