Home » Reviews - other » Royal Ascot Day Five Round-Up

Royal Ascot Day Five Round-Up

Crowds at Royal Ascot

Well, that’s Royal Ascot done and dusted for another year! I didn’t have the most successful night on Day Five, winning only 88% of what I put on, but after my success on Day Four, I’m really not worried. It’s great to end the meet so far ahead of where I started: I honestly have never had such a successful meet. Here’s how the final day went for me:

Race 1: No bets because too many runners.

Race 2: Three-horse duet with Aiken, who unfortunately was scratched after I’d put the bet on, Ektihaam and Universal. Got nothing. Also had Nobel Mission, Sir John Hawkwood and Universal to place, with only Universal coming in.
I was a tad annoyed to see that Thomas Chippendale won, as I had him listed to place a bet on, then decided against it! A terrible shame, as the poor horse suffered a heart-attack and died shortly after the race. I feel terribly sorry for his trainers, owners, groom, jockey and the rest of the team. It’s certainly one way to go out.

Thomas Chippendale

Race 3: I know this race had 18 runners, which means putting money on it means I was breaking my “no bets on races with over 16 horses in it” rule, but I wanted runners in more than just race two, and since every other race had even more that 18 horses, plus it was the last night of Royal Ascot, I decided to go for it. So: the usual three-horse duet, in this race with Hawkeyethenoo, Society Rock and Sea Siren, won nothing. Had Lethal Force, Society Rock and Mince to place, collected on Lethal Force and Society Rock. It would have been nice to have those two in the duet, but oh well!

Adam Kirby on Lethal Force

Race 4: Not available for betting through the TAB for whatever the reason is.

Race 5: No bets because too many runners.

Race 6: No bets because too many runners.

Well, that’s it for Royal Ascot for another year. A bit of a dampener on the last day, with the sad passing of Thomas Chippendale, but otherwise a wonderful race meet. There’s no more racing for me until the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, which kicks off in October. If past form is anything to go by, I never do as well on the Australian races as I do in the UK, but it’s another year, and with great successes at Royal Ascot, you never know what might happen!

(Pictures from BBC Sport)

Leave a Reply

