Home » Photography » On Red Letter Boxes

On Red Letter Boxes

I love old-fashioned red letter boxes. There are a number of the around in Australia, like the one in the gallery, but mostly, our letter boxes are new and boring. The old ones, however, are fantastic. Sometimes I feel like a spy or something when I take pictures of letter boxes, or that any second ASIO or MI6 is going to come and pick me up for suspicious behaviour! It’s nothing like that; I just really like old letter boxes.

Dad and I look out for them wherever we go and are sure to get a picture. Old Gold-Rush towns are usually the best.

I found some great ones around the UK, and have a small selection of my photos of them below.

That combination of utility and Victorian design makes traditional red letter boxes (and the very early olive green ones!) so great.

2 thoughts on “On Red Letter Boxes

Leave a Reply

